South Asian Canadians

Canadian Cricket Team – 8 Facts you didn’t know about!

Canadian Cricket Team

Canada has a national Cricket squad may not be news to you so why are we writing about them? Team Canada has most of the players from South Asian (Desi) origin/country of birth.

Cricket Canada, the governing body of the national cricket team recently announced that they have selected their team of 14 players that are going to Namibia to play in ICC WCL Division 2. This tournament forms part of the 2017-2019 cycle of World Cricket League (WCL) which will determine the qualification for 2023 Cricket World Cup.

So all in all, a long way for Canadian Cricket team but they need our support. We just need to start cheering for them if they do well and talk about them even if they don’t do well.

Here’s the list of Team Canada for the tour of Namibia.

1. Davy Jacob (Captain)
2. Navneet Dhaliwal
3. Rodrigo Thomas
4. Nitish Kumar
5. Ruvindu Gunasekera
6. Bhavindu Adihetty
7. Hiral Patel
8. Nikhil Dutta
9. Ravinderpal Singh
10. Srimantha Wijeyeratne
11. Saad Bin Zafar
12. Cecil Pervez
13. Romesh Galkandage Don
14. Dilon Heyliger

Monty Desai – Head Coach
Kantharatnam Shanthikumar – Manager
Henry Osinde – Bowling Coach
Daulat Khan – Asst Coach/Asst Analyst

8 Fun Facts about Canada’s national cricket team (Maple Leafers) you didn’t know about

  • Canada was part of the first official international cricket match and also the first official international game of any sport.
  • Canada and the United States are still part of a two-nation tournament called Auty Cup that has been played since 1844.
  • Cricket is Canada’s fastest growing sport
  • Cricket Canada receives less than $100k/year from Sports Canada.
  • There are approximately 1,30,000 players and 820 cricket clubs in Canada.
  • Cricket was once the official national sport of Canada as declared by Sir John A. Macdonald, Canada’s first Prime Minister.
  • Australia once came to Canada in 1974 and played Ontario in Toronto and lost!
  • Oldest Cricket Club in Canada – Toronto Cricket Club which was founded in 1827.

One thought on “Canadian Cricket Team – 8 Facts you didn’t know about!

Comments are closed.